One Year

One year ago today Lucy underwent her 7 hour craniotomy at Egleston.  Now, in addition, relapse and radiation are behind her, and her diabetes insipidus, hypothyroidism, and adrenal insufficiency (the combined effects of losing pituitary function) under control.  After the post-radiation MRI last week, her doctors spoke very hopefully that we have seen the last of that “meddlesome” tumor.

From here she faces a lifetime of chronic illness (panhypopituitarism), a difficult thing to process as the acute heath concerns recede.  Her endocrinologist spoke firmly with us about the challenges ahead, primarily  the risks associated with adrenal insufficiency if she ever gets careless with her 3/day hydrocortizone, as well as a likely lifelong struggle against obesity.  We are tasked with getting her weight down before November, which feels impossible because of how low-calorie her diet already is, but we are gearing up for an intense effort in order to maximize the effect of the growth hormone, which she will begin getting one year after radiation.

Lamentations 3, as it has so often, speaks my thoughts for me.

I’ll never forget… the utter lostness, the taste of ashes, the poison I’ve swallowed.  I remember it all–oh, how well I remember– the feeling of hitting the bottom.  But there’s one other thing I remember, and remembering, I keep a grip on hope: God’s loyal love couldn’t have run out, his merciful love couldn’t have dried up. They are new every morning. How great your faithfulness!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “One Year

  1. cindy hollingsworth klein

    sweet caroline, and I don’t mean to make you think of that song by neil diamond, I mean to call you sweet and by your first name. I’m so happy for you that you got to enjoy a wonderful Christmas at home, with your family complete. I do wish I could see you face to face, but I’m so grateful that you devote the time to maintain this blog. until I get to see you again, much love and many blessings to you and yours!

  2. Trish Moody

    Caroline,
    Scott and I send you much love and many prayers as you face these challenges.

    You and Richard inspire us.

    Love, Trish

  3. Beth Slay

    How wonderful to hear such hopeful news!! Your mom sent me this link and I am smiling as I read and look at these pictures. We in your Covenant church family think of you all often and continue to keep you in our prayers! Lucy is so precious!

  4. Jan

    Your family has been through so much, especially Lucy. It is quite a testimony to be quoting Lamentations 3 and such a blessing to everyone keeping up with ya’ll. Many blessings and hugs as you continue to travel this road and see all that God has for each of you.
    Love and prayers,
    Jan

Leave a comment